Skip to content ↓


Learning For Life at Mulbarton Primary

Our Learning for Life curriculum covers Relationships & Sex Education, Drugs Education and British Values. Some areas of the Learning for Life curriculum will be taught through other subject areas such as PE, Science, RE and Computing (E-Safety), Assemblies, Whole  school circle time, Creative Week and focus days such as Anti-bullying Week.

At Mulbarton Primary School we follow the PATHS (Promoting Alternative Thinking Strategies) and Educator Solutions schemes, which help children to develop emotional awareness, self-control, self-confidence, and problem-solving skills.

We teach PATHS lessons on a weekly basis; the children will learn to recognise different feelings and how to manage and understand those feelings. We display a poster with different feeling faces on so that the children can easily show and talk about how they are feeling. Within PATHS lessons, children are also taught how to manage their feelings and PATHS offers strategies to help children deal with problems that arise. In reception it is taught through Twiggle (a turtle puppet) and his friends.

PATHS helps children with…

  • Self-esteem, self-confidence, and self-control
  • Frustration & anger management
  • Attention and concentration
  • Thinking before they act out in anger
  • Emotional understanding
  • Expressing their feelings in a positive way
  • Understanding that all feelings are okay, but some behaviours are not OK
  • Preparing for change

In addition to this, every day each class picks at random, a ‘Child of the Day’. This child will have special class privileges and receive compliments from the other children and staff. When your child has had a turn at being ‘Child of the Day’, they will receive a compliment slip. This will be sent home with your child with a space for family at home to give your child a compliment. The compliment slip can then be brought back to school and comments from home are then shared with the class. ‘Child of the Day’ is a fantastic way to promote self-esteem and self-confidence.


Throughout the year we will cover sessions on 6 areas in each year group at an appropriate level. These are:

  • My feelings
  • My body
  • My Relationships
  • My Beliefs
  • My rights and responsibilities
  • Asking for help

Correct vocabulary will be taught for body parts.  Whilst it may be appropriate to use nicknames for body parts at home, in school it is essential to learn and use the correct terminology.  This ensures universal understanding, clarity, respect and manners.  In KS2, some classes may be delivered in single sex groups. Classes will establish a set of agreed ground rules to be followed during RSE sessions.

Please see below the resources we use for each year group.

Year R

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6